Two Islands One paradise - Beautiful St. Kitts and Nevis

About Culturama                       

It was in February of 1974 at a general meeting of the Nevis Dramatic and Cultural Society that the previous Christmas festival was part of the discussion. It was felt that much of the old familiar trupes were missing and that some of the activities indigenous to Nevis at Christmas time were lacking.

Lengthy discussions as to what improvements could be made and suggestions of another festival at Easter time was looked at. At that time the suggestions of another was not given serious consideration, but it was at the next general meeting of the group that Calvin "Cabo" Howell, the Vice President stressed the need and urgency to start to preserve our customs and folk art, as these were rapidly declining in our community.
Having secured a name, the time of the year was the next step. The people of Nevis are mainly of African descent and since we celebrate the freedom of slaves (Emancipation) on Nevis the first day in August, it was decided that there was no better time than the August weekend for the event. The first programme included Dancing, Drama,
Display, Old Fashion Troupes (i.e Johnny Walkers, Giant and Spear, Bulls, Red Cross, Blue Ribbon etc.) Folk Singing and Arts and Crafts. A local recipe competition and the Miss Culture Show and Calypso Competition.

The Nevis Dramatic and Cultural Society's main purposes for this Cultural Festival are:
1. to give a vital thrust to our dying traditional customs.
2. To stimulate an interest in the wealth of our cultural heritage (local folk art).
3. To receive and create a climate in which indigenous folklore can reassert itself and flourish. And of course a secondary purpose was to raise funds to build a Community Center to serve as a necessary base for the projection of Cultural Awareness Programmes.

About The Creators And Planners

The creation and planning of this event which has been one of the outstanding Caribbean festivals was the work of Mr. Calvin "Cabo" Howell. A dramatic enthusiast, along with his group came up with the idea for such a celebraton out of his love for just 'plin ole' puttingon shows. Also responsible for the sucess in the creation were the first organizers of the first ever celebration. Among them were Irma Johnson, Victor Jay Martin, Lyra Richards, Tyrone "Bahowlah" O'flaherty, Melford Henville and Clifford "Boots' Griffin, and many others who worked behind the scenes. The one common quality within the small nucleus of founding members was a sense of dedication to the promulgation of the Arts. Through their extensive research and documentation attempts to better understand the influences which shaped the lives of our fore-bearers and to present these through a medium of stage in song, dance and other art forms during these celebrations. From its inception, Culturama is the bringing to life of Nevisian Cultural Heritage. It is a time when our people are awakened to appreciate our unique life-style. It is a time when our people become aware and are taught to respect our culture. It is a five day (sometimes seven) day exposition of folk art in all forms. It is festival with a difference and it is educational and entertaining. The first festival held in 1974 did not set out to outdo the National Carnival, neither is it competitive , but year after year hundreds of Nevisians from abroad and visitors alike feel somewhat compelled to return for the occasion and to grasp the essence of the true Nevisian life

                       Past Culturama Queens

 A display of Intelligence, Talent and Beauty the Miss Culture Queen Contest is one of the largest attraction for the Culturama Festival. It is a contest that have produce some outstanding performances. A complete list of all the winners can be found below.

 Lucina Stapleton-Wade 1st Miss Culture! 1974
 Yvonne Hanley 1975
 Eloise Sargeant 1976
 Jillian France 1977
 Bernadette Maynard 1st and only Miss Independence 1983 1978
 Shirley Dore 1979
 Carmel Allen 1980
 Sherilyn Blake 1981
 Phillipa Maynard 1982
 Bernadette Brown 1984
 Marcia  Maynard 1985
 Fejona Herbert 1986
 Connie Richards 1987
 Shermel Pemberton 1988
 Lisa Thomas 1989
 Loretta Smith 1990
 Hazel Glasford Also Miss St. Kitts Nevis 1991/92, Miss OECS 1992 1991
 Cavelle Swanston 1992
 Elsa WilkinAlso Miss Caribbean World International 1995-1996 1993
 Francine Morton 1994
 Claudia Walwyn 1995
 Felicia Brown 1996
 Dianne Hobson 1997
 Natacha Wyatt 1998
 Kamara Louisy 1999
 Seba Jones (1st lady with dreads to be Crown) 2000
 Adele Dore 2001
 Tamika Lawrence 2002
 Eloise Herbert 2003
 Ercil Dore (Miss Culture 30) 2004
 Jamilla Parris 2005
 Cari Nicholas (2nd lady with dreads to be crown) 2006
 Shannecia Demming                                  2007  
Tanisha Hendrickson  2008

  Past Culturama Kings

The Kaiso (Calypso) contest is the most anticipated show during the Culturama Festival Season. Here are the past winners...

 The Mighty Zero 1974
 The Mighty Flamingo (Steve Reid) 1975
 Bahowlah, The Meek (Tyrone O'flaherty) 1976
 King Chubby (Desmond Claxton) 1977
 Mighty meeko (Crefton Warner) 1978
 Bahowlah, The Meek 1979
 King Chubby 1980
 King Ginger (Clifford Walters) 1981
 King Meeko 1982
 *No Culturama (St. Kitts Nevis Independence) 1983
 Dis An' Dat (Keith Scarborough) 1984
 King Meeko 1985
 Dis An' Dat 1986
 King Binghi (Carlisle Pemberton) 1987
 Dis An' Dat 1988
 King Binghi 1989
 Ginger 1990
 King Meeko 1991
 Chaplet (Eldrick Liburd) 1992
 King Binghi 1993
 King Meeko 1994
 Dis An' Dat 1995
 Chaplet 1996
 King Meeko 1997
 Dis An' Dat 1998
 King Meeko 1999
 Dis N Dat 2000
 Meeko 2001
 Flamingo 2002
Astro (Oscar Browne) 2003
Meeko 2004
Dis N Dat 2005
Astro 2006
Dis N Dat         2007
  Today, there have been 121 visitors (314 hits) on this page!  
Intelligence plus character - that is goal of true education - Dr. Martin Luther King Jr
This website was created for free with Would you also like to have your own website?
Sign up for free